Thursday, November 21, 2019

Universal Periodic Review Process


To find out more about the UPR process and to become involved please visit our wiki

http://sites.google.com/site/uprcerdsubmission/

UPR REPORTS

To Submit Testimony, Please Contact the a Coordinator Below Structural Reports · Convention on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination CERD Taskforce (Ramona Ortega, ramona.ortega@gmail.com) Treaty Ratification Coordinating organization – Human Rights Institute at Columbia Law School (JoAnn Ward, JWard@law.columbia.edu)   Cluster Reports · Corporate Accountability Coordinating Organization: ESCR-Net (Niko Lusiani, NLUSIANI@ESCR-NET.ORG) · Criminal Justice Coordinating Organization: Just Detention International (Cynthia Totten, CTotten@justdetention.org) · Death Penalty Coordinating Organization: Northwestern University Law School (Sandra Babcock, 312-503-0114) · Disability Coordinating Organization: Center for the Human Rights of Users and Survivors of Psychiatry (Tina Minkowitz, tminkowitz@earthlink.net) · Education Coordinating Organization: Poverty & Race Research Action Council (Philip Tegeler, ptegeler@prrac.org and Hanna Chouest, hchouest@prrac.org) · Economic and Social Rights Coordinating Organization:  NESRI (Anja Rudiger, anja@nesri.org) · Health and Health Care Coordinating Organization: The University of Dayton School of Law (Professor Vernellia Randall, vrrandall@gmail.com) · Housing Coordinating Organization: National Law Center for Homelessness and Poverty (Eric Tars, etars@nlchp.org) (Including DV issues) · Macro-Economics Coordinating Organization: Center for Women’s Global Leadership (Radhika Balakrishnan & Margot Baruch, mbaruch@rci.rutgers.edu) (Including the Economic crisis and budgeting) · Migrant Labor Rights Coordinating Organization:  University of Pennsylvania Law Clinic (Sarah Paoletti, paoletti@law.upenn.edu) · Migrants, Refugees and Asylum Seekers Coordinating Organization: The Advocates for Human Rights (Jennifer Prestholdt, JPrestholdt@advrights.org) · Post-9/11 and National Security Issues Coordinating Organization: Center for Constitutional Rights (Menna Khalil, MKhalil@ccrjustice.org) · Racial Profiling Coordinating Organization: Rights Working Group (Margaret Huang) · Reproductive Rights Coordinating Organization: Center for Reproductive Rights (Michelle Movahad, mmovahed@reprorights.org) · Right to Work Coordinating Organization: Urban Justice Center (Ejim Dike, edike@urbanjustice.org) (impact of crisis on communities of color and women) · US Political Prisoners: Civil Rights / Cointel Pro Coordinating Organizers: Standish E. Willis & Efia Nwangaza Other issue areas groups have indicated they will be addressing in their individual organizational reports that may benefit from collaboration: · Domestic Violence (ACLU?, Four Freedoms Forum at UH , National Law Center on Homelessness and Poverty) · Trafficking (MN Advocates for HR , Four Freedoms Forum at UH) · Human Rights Education (Human Rights Education Associates, Meiklejohn) · Indigenous Rights (Four Freedoms, Advocates for HR, IITC) Issues where more follow-up is needed to see if cluster reports develop: · Children’s Rights · Discrimination on the basis of Gender, Sexuality, and Sexual Orientation · Gulf Coast Working Group / Katrina

· Campaign for Domestic Human Rights: Blueprint / Civil Rights

  • Share/Bookmark